Skip to content

Tomato Time!

July 23, 2009

Till the season… for tomatoes!

basket of tomatoes

basket of tomatoes

 When planting the garden, Mom & I went quite mad with the tomato plants. In fact, we dedicated a whole 15 foot row to only tomato plants. Heirloom varieties danced through my head in dreams like sugar plums for les petites at Christmas time. Only a couple months later, we are picking over 40 tomatoes a week!

romas, lemon boys, & brandywines. oh my!

romas, lemon boys, & brandywines. oh my!

On my way to the Beach for a summer vacation, I am stopping to press tomatoes for my mother to can. I can’t wait to enjoy their sweet summer flavor months later in some heart-warming winter chili.

Lovely Fresh Pressed Tomato Juice!

Lovely Fresh Pressed Tomato Juice!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leigh permalink
    July 24, 2009 8:57 am

    You need to figure out what to do with 100’s of jalapenos and banana peppers !! We are overrun with them….

Leave a Reply

