Skip to content

Garden Update

September 28, 2009

I took the camera with me today after I weeded for an hour in the garden. Looking at the photos afterwards, I can’t believe how thoroughly weed-filled my garden is. It seems an impossible task to completely remove the undergrowth and clover and other weeds, including wild onions! Something has been feasting on some of my plants, the the cabbages specifically.  I worry about my brussel sprouts and the spinach; they don’t seem to be growing enough and their stems seem fragile. I pulled out the remaining zucchini plant (never produced – not worth the space it took up), and I also pulled out the cucumber plant (she had died after it turned a little colder). The beans, while I don’t have a current photo, are doing well and supplied some beans tonight for my homemade chicken pot pie (recipe coming soon).
Baby Honeybear Squash growing

Baby Honeybear Squash growing

Baby Spinach plants

Baby Spinach plants

cabbage patch

cabbage patch

immature broccoli plants

immature broccoli plants

butternut squash plant

butternut squash plant

baby butternut squash growing

baby butternut squash growing

baby kale plants

baby kale plants

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

