Skip to content

Long Awaited Egg

January 20, 2010

 

Since early October, my tolerant husband and I have shared our yard with three hens. Their arrival was dotted with fanfare and worries over what I would do with all the eggs! After a traumatic move (for the hens) and period of adjustment, we received an egg here and there. But since those first few weeks, nothing! Nothing. At. All.

And then… from the depths of winter… a gift! 

 

A beautiful blue egg.

F. and I had fretted. I had even called the county agricultural commissioner to find out why the birds weren’t laying. And then, a light bulb went off. Quite literally. Darling hubby put a light bulb in their coop, and voila, less than one week later – an egg.

Now the question is: What breed is my hen, and which hen laid the egg??

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    January 21, 2010 6:25 am

    How exciting! Finally, after all those months of waiting. I’ll have to come over for quiche and scrambled eggs meal 😉

  2. Leigh permalink
    January 21, 2010 9:36 pm

    I am so excited for you !!! I feel like a new grandma !!!

  3. January 24, 2010 6:51 pm

    ah! isn’t it amazing what light can do? 🙂

  4. Popa permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:25 pm

    We ate those beautiful three shown above this morning. I could not believe the deep orange color of the yolks. They were delicious!!!

    • lizounette permalink
      January 27, 2010 1:28 pm

      that’s wonderful, Popa!

Leave a Reply

