Skip to content

Getting Ready

February 14, 2010

While snow is still on the ground, it is time to plan! Spring Garden time is almost here.  So the first thing I have to do is decide what all I want to plant this year and how much space I will devote to each vegetable. I feel so behind – F. & I still have not tilled in our Autumn garden! The brussel sprout plants, which did not do well, are sad specimens indeed since I’ve let the chickens roam in the garden- they pecked the little plants down to the stems.

So, I compiled a list of vegetables that would be sown or transplanted in March. To compile your own list, I recommend this website.

Vegetables to be sown in March:

  • Peas
  • Lettuce
  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Radishes
  • Dill
  • Cilantro
  • Potatoes
  • Turnips

My vegetables for transplanting in March:

  • Cabbage
  • Broccoli
  • Kale
  • Radicchio
  • Scallions

What are you growing this Spring, 2010?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 10:22 am

    what an excellent website! thank you so much for sharing the link w/ us… i’m dreaming of spring and this will help me believe it’s really coming son!

    • lizounette permalink
      February 18, 2010 10:39 am

      my pleasure! this time of year is always so exciting with all the anticipation. good luck with your endeavors!

  2. Leigh permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:11 am

    Dad went to the garden last evening and thinks he will be able to till today !!!! So we can have everything ready to go for our early spring garden. How is the ground out your way?

    • lizounette permalink
      February 20, 2010 10:21 am

      Yes – We are tilling today. Actually – our yard is still a disaster from all the winter weather; so we are having a yard clean up day. So we’ll till today, and then let it rest till the first week of March when I’ll plant… I’m still trying to figure out how to lay out my stuff. How many rows are you doing? Have you thought about using black soil coverings?

      • Leigh permalink
        February 20, 2010 10:29 am

        Well….we bought 25 bales of pine straw not 10 minutes ago….so I am going to have Dad till some into the garden and then use the rest as a mulch !!!

  3. lizounette permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:32 am

    our yard is so covered in pine straw – I should rake some of it and put it in the garden before we till…

    • Leigh permalink
      February 20, 2010 10:44 am

      it really will help aerate the soil…then save some as time goes by to use as mulch when the plants spring up….especially the tomatoes !! Hopefully mulching this year they won’t split.

  4. February 22, 2010 6:10 pm

    i’m actually cheating. i had my mom sign up for a CSA…. so i’ll be having whatever they’ll be growing 🙂

    but i think there will be lots of basil in my own backyard this summer – yum yum yum!

    • lizounette permalink
      February 23, 2010 8:25 am

      Hopefully they will have a good crop for you – CSAs seems so fun; a surprising edible melange every week!

Leave a Reply

