Skip to content

Restaurant Review: Buku

February 18, 2010
tags:

Last night, one of my favorite dining companions and I ventured out in Downtown Raleigh to try the newest restaurant, Buku.
 
Buku
110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC
 
Without qualms, Buku is an impressive space. My friend and I met at a table in the open bar section; I sat on the long pillow-filled bench, and to my surprise it was very comfortable. At the back of the bar area there’s a framed stage for live music, and the liquor shelf is attractively backlit by a waterfall wall; I imagine the atmosphere in the late evening would be very seductive with the red color tones and artistic design throughout. Worldly books on various subjects, along with publications such as The Economist and The Independent are thoughtfully provided throughout the bar area and many times the staff went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming, both of which really gave the space a more personal feeling.
 
We split an assortment of dishes from their menu. Our favorites were the scallops, which were really divine and perfectly cooked and presented on a bed of sushi rice with a flavorful soy-based sauce, and the empanadas, that are both fried, grilled, and topped with a flavorful tomatillo salsa & fresh cheese garnish. We tried five different dishes: none were disappointing, and all were interesting and very reasonably priced.
 
Buku is marketed as an “Global Street Food” restaurant, but I favor calling it an “International Tapas Restaurant,” as the menu is more comprised of small plates. Also, the dishes do not have the disposable quality I imagine that pairs with street food. However, I am told that the lunch menu will be more authentic wrapped in paper street food.
 
Put any way, Buku was a great dining experience. I think it is a perfect spot for drinks with some food, or a full blown gastronomical adventure. The atmosphere is top notch, and the dishes are innovative, well prepared and tasty. I delightfully anticipate my next visit.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leigh permalink
    February 20, 2010 8:30 am

    Where are all the pictures?? I love to see the pictures of everything you eat.

  2. Popa permalink
    February 20, 2010 9:41 am

    Sounds like a good meal!

Leave a Reply

