Skip to content

small surprises

April 23, 2010

IMG_3618

Real estate is at a premium right now in the garden. I’ve been feeling a pinch ever since spotting tomato and pepper plants out on a recent trip to Home Depot. Conversation with colleagues has confirmed that tomatoes have already been planted in many area gardens. Our trip to spruce up some flowerboxes was more than fruitful; I went overboard when I went ahead and bought transplants for many vegetables for which I already had seeds. In additional to the Gerber daisies for our flowerboxes, I also picked up cucumber, crookneck yellow squash, a pink brandywine tomato, a paprika pepper, a green bell pepper, and a cherry red pepper.

So now, the big questions is where am I going to put them? I convinced myself the peppers would do well in pots. And the tomato plants I squeezed in between my two rows of carrots. I stuck my squash plant right in by the lettuce, and plotted the cucumbers right in a small space between the peas and other lettuce patch.

After all this haphazard planting, I decided it was harvest time for that first and long overdue to be mature group of turnips & radishes. I suspected that they would not turned out well. I expected their bulbs to be teeny, but as I’m pressed for garden space, up they came.

And what a surprise, there was actually two rounded radishes and a handful of turnips. I don’t know what to do with them. I would kind of like to quick-pickle them. Any suggestions?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leigh permalink
    April 25, 2010 5:06 pm

    What pretty colors….Dad pulled up at least 25 radishes this morning while we were out planting our tomatoes and peppers….I think I am going to have to pull up the broccoli and cabbage plants because they are looking like they want to bolt instead of fruiting. So that will give me more space….The white and red potato plants are getting big…so get ready for potatoes all summer !! When I get true leaves from the seeds I planted for the squash and cucumbers I guess I will put them in the ground too….

  2. lizounette permalink
    April 28, 2010 6:06 pm

    well, the broccoli has been pulled up. I think my cabbage just looks too lovely to pull up yet. But, I’ve gotten two more tomato plants in where the broccoli was.

Leave a Reply

