Skip to content

Baking, like a Farmer’s Market, is for sharing

August 5, 2010

Since the Daring Cooks recent May challenge of making bread, I have been on a baking kick.  I’ve found it very rewarding to create golden loaves from my very own oven, using only four modest ingredients. The results have been surprising good, too. F. has gleefully enjoyed my efforts; growing up with his mother always baking fresh bread, my new hobby reminds him of his childhood.

IMG_6101

An addiction to baking is rather dangerous. Really, what is better than a fresh warm baguette? With a little butter, isn’t it heaven? Add a pinch of fleur de sel and there is simply no question. 

While I love the wholesome bread coming from my kitchen, to bake my fill we end up with too much bread. So this past Saturday morning, instead of trying to incorporate all the bread I wanted to make into our meals, I took my efforts to the Durham Urban Ministries Soup Kitchen.  After all, doesn’t baking stem from a desire to share something with others?

Aside from bakers, also generous of heart the farmers that grow the food we eat. Everyday, we are blessed that farmer’s share their food with us.  And this week is National Farmer’s Market Week; So, this weekend do make sure you hit the market old fashioned style and celebrate locally and visit your Farmer’s Market! Click here to search for your local market. 

IMG_6234

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Luckily, Urban Ministries is located rather close to the Durham Farmer’s Market. So, we dropped off my loaves, we finished the day off with some lovely produce. The photo above is of the lovely cherry tomatoes we bought. I split them and roasted them cut-side up at 400 for two hours and then tossed with corkscrew pasta, a handful of frozen peas, cubed grilled zucchini, raw minced onions and a light balsamic vinaigrette for a cool summer salad. Perfect for a vegetarian picnic dish, packed and served in a mason jar.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 10:07 pm

    Your bread looks wonderful and I love the way that you shared it.

Leave a Reply

