Skip to content

DC Challenge: Peachy Apple Butter

September 14, 2010

Beautiful, fresh September. In France, September brings la rentrée, the Jewish New Year also graces September, even the trees mark the beginning of a new leaf for so many with their shedding of old leaves in favor of new growth. I love September, and this spiced Apple Peach butter is just the start to a September morning.

With great pleasure, I share with you my September challenge dish. The September 2010 Daring Cooks’ challenge was hosted by John of Eat4Fun. John chose to challenge The Daring Cooks to learn about food preservation, mainly in the form of canning and freezing. He challenged everyone to make a recipe and preserve it. John’s source for food preservation information was from The National Center for Home Food Preservation. John provided us with a recipe of apple butter and just the other week, I had spotted a beautiful ripe apple tree by the airport when F. was taking flying lessons, and I pleaded with him to help me forage the fruits. With those fruits, and some lush beauties found at the neighborhood grocery, I made this lovely fruit butter.

Peachy Apple Butter

IMG_6938

First, blanch to peel 6 ripe yellow Peaches and 6 rose colored Apples (like Cameos). Dice the fruits, and bring to a boil over medium high heat with 1 cup Juice or water (I used a mango-orange blend) and 1 cup of Splenda. Allow the fruits to cook at least 20 minutes, then puree to your desired texture (I ran mine through my favorite tomato press).

 IMG_6946

Once pureed, return the fruits to medium-low heat and allow mixture to cook for a minimum of one and a half hours (or until all water is evaporated and when placed on a plate no moisture circle encloses the spoonful). When all the excess water has evaporated and the butter is a rich dark color, mix with 1/4 teaspoon Cloves, 1/4 teaspoon Allspice, 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon, and 1/4 teaspoon of Nutmeg.  Spoon Peachy Apple Butter into empty mason jars and enjoy in a variety of ways. I prefer mine simply spread over toast.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leigh Sewell permalink
    September 15, 2010 12:30 am

    Maybe next year you will be ready to make some first place jams and jellies with your old Mom !!! The butters look lovely. You should enter one at the state fair….

  2. Carrie Clark permalink
    September 17, 2010 9:07 am

    Oh holy crap. I knew I loved fall for a reason and this is exactly that reason. I know what I’m doing next week!!

Leave a Reply

