Skip to content

DB Challenge: Crostata

November 27, 2010

IMG_7537

The 2010 November Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Simona of briciole. She chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ to make pasta frolla for a crostata. She used her own experience as a source, as well as information from Pellegrino Artusi’s Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well.

I used the recipe for the pasta frolla sited on Il Forno, with just one substitution. Instead of almond flour, I used chestnut flour that I brought home from my most recent trip to France.

So all together, sift together

  • 170 g all purpose flour
    50 g almond/chestnut flour
    70 g confectioner’s sugar

Then, mix in

  • 1 tsp grated lemon peel
    1 tsp vanilla extract

Now, this next part is the one I always find the trickiest: the cutting in of the butter. I confess, I’m not a real pastry dough maker. I’ve only ever attempted pastry dough once… maybe twice. Both times to bready concoctions that dissuaded me from trying again. Therein, I’ve remained good friends with Mrs. Refrigerated Pillsbury Pie Dough. However, this is one of those cases where for me the true message of the Daring Bakers rings loud and true, “You must try in the kitchen those things that make you cringe!!” So with courage, if you’re like me, approach this next step and cut in that butter!

Now, this time I literally cut the butter into cubes and dropped it into the flour mix. Slice a piece of butter, cut it thrice lengthwise and then thrice horizontally. Then separate each little cube of butter and drop that butter into the flour. Stir the butter into the flour so it’s deeply engulfed by the time you drop in the next set of cubes. Finally, with all the cubes hiding in the flour, take your pastry blender and work the mixture until it achieves a pebbly appearance.

IMG_7515

Finally, combine the dough using 1 egg and 1 egg yolk. Once the mixture is just combined, form it into a disk, wrap in saran wrap, and put it in the freezer for 3o minutes. After the time in the freezer, pull the dough out and let it rest on the counter until it is workable. Roll the dough into a circle and transfer the dough into a tart pan. Then, I blind baked my tart shell at 375 for 20 minutes. When it came out, it wasn’t the prettiest tart shell ever, but it appeared very edible, and I was proud of myself for having tried the short crust dough!

IMG_7494

 

While the tart baked a cooled, I assembled my filling. I wanted to do a double layer, one of pastry cream and the top of fruit preserves. To accomplish this, I first spread the pastry cream on a sheet of wax paper and froze the circle for fifteen minutes to harden before then topping the pastry cream with a layer of the fruit preserves. Again, fifteen more minutes in the freezer for the fillings to set. then, I flipped the mixture into the tart shell, created a dodgy rope lattice on top and baked the tart for a half an hour.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 6:51 am

    love it ❤ glad you conquered your fear of pastry dough!

    • lizounette permalink
      December 16, 2010 3:43 pm

      thanks, Cathy! I’m getting there, petit a petit!

  2. December 22, 2010 1:15 am

    Daring Bakers is indeed about getting out of our comfort zone. I am glad you were happy with the result of your efforts.

Leave a Reply

