Skip to content

Monstera Monday

August 31, 2020

Good morning, lovies! Today is Monday, and therein Monstera Monday! I thought I’d take you on a tour of my darling Monsteras.

Wrangling in Lilly Monstera Leaves

Here is my next darling; my Monstera Delicioso. Now this one I bought in a big 10” pot about 6 months ago. She’s put out lots of new heads, which look like heron beaks as they emerge and unfurl, but you can see some of a more recent crop have “burnt.” I’m not sure what to do about that!

My next friends are some of my new favorites. She’s a hearty grower and I’ve already rooted a whole new potted plant from cuttings. Here is my Monstera Adansonii:

Monstera Adansonii

Here is the biggest of the three I’ve got growing on, bought as a 10” pot. I also bought a smaller 6” plant here:

Monstera Adansonii

And from them both have taken enough clippings to propagate this baby below!

Monstera Adansonii

Here’s a shot of the baby Adansonii at our kitchen nook Plant Shelf.

This next little girl is my Monstera Ginny. She is in the middle to the right of the birdcage. I got her in a 4” pot at the start of summer. I look forward to seeing how she grows. Here’s a close up of her;

Monstera Ginny

She hasn’t grown much but does exhibit this beautiful like green color. Her root stem is thick, I’m wondering if maybe I add a support to have it grow around and up.

Entryway plant shelf

My Monstera Delicioso is a favorite too. I’ve been watching her unfurl continuously since u bought her in the Spring. Some of her leaves got “crispy” halfway through unfurling and I’m not sure what to do about those burnt leaves.

Monstera Delicioso

I love this grouping I’ve got her in behind the couch

Behind the Couch Plant collection

I made a trade for this rooted cutting at the beginning of spring. It’s really done nothing so I’m not sure why I keep it about. I don’t think it shows any promise of growth.

Monstera rooted cutting

Here is my most recent addition, a Monstera Xanadu. I yearned for this guy and he is impressive! His roots were insane when I reported him. I think he’ll be happy here on my upper landing grouping.

Monstera Xanadu

Here’s another snap showing the whole plant grouping.

Upper landing plant grouping

And this final Monstera gracing my home is this Monstera Hope. I’ve had this lady for about a year, but she hasn’t grown a lot, mainly putting out small “lily pad” leaves at the bottom like this one to the left. I moved here from the moderate light dining room to the new real plant shed in the playroom though and the other morning I noticed she’s unfurling a new leaf above an existing one. So exciting ! Check it out:

Monstera Hope
Monstera Hope

That’s all my Monstera, friends ! Do you dig Monsteras ? If so, what types are your favorite(s)?

Lots of light and love to you & yours,

Lizounette

No comments yet

Leave a comment